Meet the Commissioners

The Philadelphia Gas Commission is a departmental commission of the City of Philadelphia under the Philadelphia Home Rule Charter. There are five Commissioners:

  • two appointees of the Mayor;
  • two appointees of the City Council; and
  • the City Controller

Commissioners appointed by the Mayor and City Council serve for four years or until their successor is appointed and qualified. The City Controller serves for his/her elected term in office.

Currently, the Gas Commissioners are:

  • Royal E. Brown (Vice Chair) – Retired (formerly Vice President, Treasury Services at Independence Blue Cross); reappointed by Mayor Kenney in March 2016.

  • Curtis Jones, Jr. – Councilman, 4th Councilmanic District; Majority Leader, City Council; reappointed by City Council in February 2012.

  • Evan Urbania – CEO, Chatterblast Media; appointed by Mayor Kenney in October 2022.

  • Mike Driscoll – Councilman, 6th Councilmanic District; appointed by City Council in April 2023.

  • Christy Brady – City Controller; joined the Commission in December 2023.

The Gas Commission’s business office is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday (except holidays). Our office address and contact information are:

    One Parkway Building
    1515 Arch Street, 9th Floor
    Philadelphia, PA 19102
    215-683-0900 (phone)
    215-683-0911 (facs)

Please click here for a directory of Gas Commission staff.